Adam by Jacquelyn Frank Review

ADAM
The Nightwalkers- Book 6

Haunted by magic, beset by evil, the Nightwalkers face their darkest hour yet. And when they unthinkable happens, only one legendary male has the power,
the will, to save them: Adam….

FOR 400 YEARS HE WAS LOST TO HER, BUT HE IS HERS TONIGHT…

From their first tantalizing touch, Jasmine knows he is different. What other lover could unlock her tight control, flood Vampire senses jaded by a lifetime of decadent self indulgence? Centuries ago, when he disappeared without a trace, she had given up hope of ever fulfilling the promise of incomparable passion. But here he is, against the very laws of nature, ready to bring down their most vicious enemy, ready to bring her blood to the boiling point…. If she will only let him.

(taken from Frank’s website)

*******

Jacquelyn Frank has always been one of my favorite authors.  I have read all of the Nightwalkers  Series and the Shadowdwellers Series as well.  When Adam came out, I bought it right away because I was so excited to continue on the journey of the Nightwalkers.  Demons, Vampires, Lycanthropes …Oh my…I love them all.  Because of time constraints, I was unable to get to Adam until recently.

This is the very first book of Jacquelyn’s that I have been disappointed in.  Without giving away any pertinent information and spoilers, the very beginning of the book took me out of it.  An event takes place (that later in the book makes sense), but right off the bat I was very pissed off because of said event.  And to be honest with you, I didn’t recover quick enough from it because it took too long to get where I understood what had happened and where Frank was going with the story.

The second issue I had with the book is that I don’t feel like enough of it was centered around Adam.  I never got enough of him.  And although really even a full book of all Adam wouldn’t be enough, there really wasn’t a whole lot of time for me to appreciate this book being about him. The story seemed to center more around Leah (Jacob and Bella’s daughter) than Adam.  I understand the need for Leah of course having a major part in the story, but I feel like she should have been secondary to Adam, but it felt like it was reversed.   I will say that what I got of Adam I LOVED.  He is definitely one hot sexy Demon!  Jasmine is one lucky little Vamp.

The third issue I had, is that the majority of the book felt very depressing.  There wasn’t a balance of emotion and it was a struggle for me to pick up the book and continue on.  I also was hoping for more intimacy between Adam and Jasmine but that didn’t really come until the story was almost over.  The story as a whole just didn’t feel complete to me.  That is the best way I can describe it.

Although this is definitely not one of my favorite books to date that I have read from Jacquelyn, I certainly will not be throwing her books to the wayside.  I enjoy her writing, just expected more from Adam.

I am giving ADAM a 3 out of 5 Stars because I honestly never recovered from the WTH moment at the very beginning of the story and because the story didn’t grab my attention to make me want to give up sleep to read.

*****

Happy Reading!

Ava Riley

Tell Me What You Think

