Lover Enshrined Review

LOVER ENSHRINED
by J.R. Ward
Published by Signet Eclipse
June 2008
Book six: Phury’s Story

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly war raging between vampires and their slayers. And there exists a secret band of brothers like no other—six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. And now, a dutiful twin must choose between two lives…

Fiercely loyal to the Black Dagger Brotherhood, Phury has sacrificed himself for the good of the race, becoming the male responsible for keeping the Brotherhood’s bloodlines alive. As Primale of the Chosen, he is to father the sons and daughters who will ensure that the traditions of the race survive and that there are warriors to fight those who want all vampires extinguished.

As his first mate, the Chosen Cormia wants to win not only his body but his heart for herself- she sees the emotionally scarred male behind all his noble responsibility. But while the war with the Lessening Society grows more grim, and tragedy looms over the Brotherhood’s mansion, Phury must decide between duty and love.

 

(taken from J.R. Ward’s website)

****

Phury has always been one of my favorite brothers since Dark Lover.  Although each brother has his own personal pain he is dealing with, something has always struck me with Phury.  Some may say he is a martyr or that he has brought on his own drug addiction, but I have just always had a soft spot for him.  So I was very excited to finally get to his story.

I heard a lot of mixed feelings about Lover Enshrined.  Quite honestly, a lot of people told me it was their least favorite book in the series.  Because of that, I went in expecting it to be the most horrible story I’d ever read.  This was not the case for me.  Maybe it was because I was expecting less, when in reality what I got was a good story.  Not the absolute best story I ever took time to read, but definitely a good read.

I will say that there were times while reading it that I thought to myself, “is this section of the book ever going to end?” but all in all I enjoyed sitting down and reading it.  There are definitely some turn of events that I didn’t expect and some revelations that came about that gave me an “ah” moment.  Without giving anything away, however, I will say that one scenario that seems to be unfolding has me saying, “oh hell no please don’t go there.”

I am giving Lover Enshrined a 4 out of 5 Stars mostly because although I did enjoy the book greatly, it didn’t leave me with a satisfaction at the last page and because of that “Oh hell no” scenario.  I do recommend it, especially if you’ve come this far already.

Happy Reading!

Ava Riley

Tell Me What You Think

