Women in Lust Review

Women in Lust
Erotic Stories

Edited by Rachel Kramer Bussel

Love, Lust and Desire

At its best, lust is intense, all-consuming, leaving you breathless, able only to focus on slaking that urgent need. The characters inWomen in Lust give in to that pure, overpowering impulse for sex. Whether watching a lover playing guitar, using a webcam, going out for a smoke or simply embracing a chance encounter, these women seize the opportunities presented to them, and savor the lovers who teach them about themselves and help them open up to new sensual possibilities. These women embrace lust even when it makes them do things they might consider reckless. Sometimes the object of their lust is not the “right” person—a woman falls for her best friend’s boyfriend, the ultimate taboo. Or desire itself may be maddening when it teases and taunts. Rachel Kramer Bussel has brought together top erotica authors who know exactly what to do with those burning desires.

With contributed stories by Portia Da Costa, Charlotte Stein, Aimee Pearl, Clancy Nacht, Elizabeth Coldwell, Lucy Hughes, Del Carmen, Jen Cross, Rachel Kramer Bussel, Brandy Fox, Amelia Thornton, Kin Fallon, Aimee Herman, Jacqueline Applebee, Kayar Silkenvoice, Olivia Archer, Justine Elyot, K.D. Grace, Shanna Germain, and Donna George Storey.

(taken from Cleis Press website)

****

I received this book from Cleis Press to review.  I had read another book previously for them which I completely loved.  This book unfortunately didn’t have the same effect for me.  The first few stories were very difficult for me to get through as I felt as if they were very elementary in their writing style.  I felt as if I were reading a teenager trying to write Erotica.  With that being said, there were a few stories that I particularly enjoyed and so don’t feel as if the entire book was a waste of my time.

The first story I enjoyed was the fourth story in the book, Bayou by Clancy Nacht.  Because I was so discouraged about the first three stories, I was thankful that this story came so quickly (no pun intended).  This story is very quick but very HOT and is what kept me reading!  Some of the things these two lovers in the short amount of time they are together, I would never try, but yet they are very intriguing.  Clancy does a great job of getting us all worked up and wanting more, but yet satisfied at the quickie we experience.

The second story, and possibly my most favorite of the entire book is Smoke by Elizabeth Coldwell.  Smoke takes place in a bar in Amsterdam and took me from expecting one thing and getting something completely different.  Barbara gets the experience of a lifetime, an experience that so many women only fantasize about.  Another story, of hot, quick sex, but with a little twist at the end that makes you smile.  By the end of this story, I felt like I needed a smoke (and I don’t even smoke).

The last story I’d like to mention for two reasons: 1) I really enjoyed it and 2) because I could relate to it on some levels.  Hot For Teacher by Rachel Kramer Bussel, is a story about an older college student (ahem..this is where I relate), who has decided to go back to college and better herself after raising her kids on her own.  This little story is a hot sexy story about an older woman who is literally hot and wet for her college teacher.  Rachel does a great job building up to the moment we all know is coming and then hits us in the face with some very hot and steamy (of course quick) sex.  I will never look at my male college professors the same after reading this and wondering…do they really do that.  LOL  This is definitely a great story.

So all in all, I was a little disappointed (although others may enjoy the stories I did not), with the exception of those few I mentioned.  Women in Lust is receiving a 3 1/2 Stars out of 5 from me.

Happy Reading!

Ava Riley

Tell Me What You Think

