Review of Lover Awakened by J.R. Ward

 

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly war raging between vampires and their slayers. And there exists a secret band of brothers like no other – six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Of these, Zsadist is the most terrifying member of the Black Dagger Brotherhood.
A former blood slave, the vampire Zsadist still bears the scars from a past filled with suffering and humiliation. Renowned for his unquenchable fury and sinister deeds, he is a savage feared by humans and vampires alike. Anger is his only companion, and terror is his only passion—until he rescues a beautiful aristocrat from the evil Lessening Society.Bella is instantly entranced by the seething power Zsadist possesses. But even as their desire for one another begins to overtake them both, Zsadist’s thirst for vengeance against Bella’s tormentors drives him to the brink of madness. Now, Bella must help her lover overcome the wounds of his tortured past, and find a future with her…

(taken from J.R. Ward’s website)

As I read Dark Lover and Lover Eternal, the anticipation to read about Zsadist increased with each turn of the page.  I couldn’t wait to see him peeled away down to the core just as the apples he consumes. Upon picking up Lover Awakened, I began to read of the horrors of the life that had been handed to Zsadist.  My heart ached with each revelation, and with each rejection he handed out to those around him.

When Bella enters the picture I knew right away it wouldn’t be an easy task for her to break through the  centuries of humiliation, anger, and even hurt this warrior felt.  And just when I thought Z would allow someone to love him, he threw me for a fast one.  I cried, I got angry, my chest hurt from the pain that both he and Bella endured, and then I cried some more.

J.R. Ward has a way of sucking us in to the Brotherhood’s world and making us feel as if we are standing on the sidelines watching and waiting for the Brothers to do the right thing and accept that love that is offered to them.  She also has a way of pissing us off, because things never go as we (or at least as I) think they should go.  I’m usually okay with this, but I have to be honest and say that I gave this book a 4 out of 5 Stars because she kind of pissed me off in a way that I don’t know if I can forgive (you’ll just have to read it to find out b/c no spoilers here).  Although when I reached the end of Lover Awakened my heart was relieved, I can say that my anger was soothed away.

All in all, this is another great read in the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series and a must read.

Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

Happy Reading!

Ava Riley

 

 

4 thoughts on “Review of Lover Awakened by J.R. Ward

  1. I giggle everytime I read a new review from you. I love these books and you captured why perfectly. Watching from the sidelines is the perfect description. It’s a freaking paranormal world and it feels human. I’m going to Caldwell! Lol

Tell Me What You Think

