Dark Lover ~ The Black Dagger Brotherhood

 

 

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There also exists a secret band of brothers like no other – six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Among them, none relishes killing their enemies more than Wrath, the leader of the Black Dagger Brotherhood…
The only purebred vampire left on the planet, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But when one of his most trusted fighters is killed- orphaning a half-breed daughter unaware of her heritage or her fate – Wrath must usher the beautiful female into the world of the undead…

Racked by a restlessness in her body that wasn’t there before, Beth Randall is helpless against the dangerously sexy man who comes to her at night with shadows in his eyes. His tales of brotherhood and blood frighten her. But his touch ignites a dawning hunger that threatens to consume them both…

(taken from J.R. Ward’s site)

******************************

I believe that honesty is the best policy, so this is me being honest with you.  When I first picked up Dark Lover by J.R. Ward, I was not smitten by her writing at all.  So many people (my twitter friends) had raved on and on about it.  I don’t have a lot of excess time to read, so when I do read I don’t want it to be a waste of my time.  Well, I felt like I had been duped. That all these people mislead me, ushering me into a world I would not be happy staying in. I also realized, that many people couldn’t be wrong, especially when some of us like a lot of the same authors.  And I truly believe in second chances.

I walked away from Dark Lover, pushed it to the side until I felt as if I could come at it in a different frame of mind.  Sometimes the way we view a piece of work depends on what is going on with us at the time.  I picked it back up a few days later and I felt as if I were reading a whole new book!

I absolutely LOVE the characters in Dark Lover.  Although DL focuses on Wrath and Beth, we are given just enough time with the other brothers of the Black Dagger Brotherhood (I can’t wait to read about the rest of them, especially Zsadist *he is getting a book right* ~ I’m a sucker for the angry, misunderstood types), to understand a little about each of them.

J.R. Ward does a fantastic job bringing us into the world of the Black Dagger Brotherhood.  Wrath ~ King to his people, Warrior of the brotherhood, and Deadly to those around him.  This hot, sexy vampire parts seas of people with just his presence and cares little of what others think of him.  That is until his true shellan (mated female vampire) is thrust into his life.  Half-Breed Daughter of Darius, Beth, turns Wrath’s world upside down.  The responsibility of ushering Beth into a world unknown to her is left in the hands of Wrath.  Although, he is reluctant in doing so, it is Beth who turns his world upside down as she is his perfect match.  It is so refreshing to see her accept her fate and do it standing up to this powerful warrior.

If you have not had a chance to open the cover of Dark Lover, you are missing out.  I highly recommend this book and am giving it 4 stars out of 5!

Now on to LOVER ETERNAL!

Happy Reading!

Ava Riley

Tell Me What You Think

