Deeper Than Midnight Review

DELIVERED FROM THE DARKNESS, A WOMAN FINDS HERSELF PLUNGED INTO A PASSION THAT IS DEEPER THAN MIDNIGHT.

At eighteen, Corinne Bishop was a beautiful, spirited young woman living a life of privilege as the adopted daughter of a wealthy family. Her world changed in an instant when she was stolen away and held prisoner by the malevolent vampire Dragos. After many years of captivity and torment, Corinne is rescued by the Order, a cadre of vampire warriors embroiled in a war against Dragos and his followers. Her innocence taken, Corinne has lost a piece of her heart as well—the one thing that gave her hope during her imprisonment, and the only thing that matters to her now that she is free.

Assigned to safeguard Corinne on her trip home is a formidable golden-eyed Breed male called Hunter. Once Dragos’s most deadly assassin, Hunter now works for the Order, and he’s hell-bent on making Dragos pay for his manifold sins. Bonded to Corinne by their mutual desire, Hunter will have to decide how far he’ll go to end Dragos’s reign of evil—even if carrying out his mission means shattering Corinne’s tender heart.

**********************************************************************************************************************************

I have loved all of the books in the Midnight Breed series, but I have to be honest and say that I was nervous when I found out that Deeper Than Midnight was Hunter’s story.  He just wasn’t someone I imagined falling in love or having an ounce of a soft spot for the females (other than Mira of course).  Lara does an amazing job in showing the strong, powerful warrior as the gentle giant he is.  I laughed, I cried, and I found myself cheering for Hunter and Corinne.

“Watching” as Hunter experiences emotions and feelings like he never has before is not only refreshing, but sweet.  I silently giggled a few times and even caught myself saying “awww” out loud.  When Hunter steals a glance at Corinne, causing his body to react, I actually felt the need to push him in her direction.  He is strong, powerful, and let’s not forget to mention extremely hot!  This Gen One is a dream come true.

Hunter is exactly what Corinne needs to bring balance back into her life.  After living through her own personal hell, the one person she least expects to be at her side is Hunter. The emotionless warrior, who is dead set on staying on task shows Corinne the tenderness and happiness she had never experienced from a man before.

I enjoyed the riding along with these two as they awakened a light within each of them.  A mission turned into romance, filled with love, trust, and faith.  I honestly had a hard time putting this book down and if my Nook hadn’t needed to be recharged or I had to pick the kids up from school, I would have finished a lot sooner.

I give Deeper Than Midnight a 5 out of 5 Stars and highly recommend this book, it is by far my favorite in the Midnight Breed Series.

Tell Me What You Think

