Words to Live By!

As I sit here, I’m drinking coffee from a cup I got a few years back from the company I worked for.  It reads: “If we don’t take care of the customer, somebody else will.”

I am not so naive to think that people are perfect, never have  thought that.  The old saying of, “those who live in glass houses should not throw stones,” rings true for me (I think I quoted that correctly, if not you get the point).  I’m not perfect, never claimed to be and never will.  However, nothing peeves me more than a company that advocates lying to their customers.  Yep, I’ve been dealing with this for over two weeks in getting a replacement part from a company for a product I spent a big chunk of money on (and in today’s economy).  Tell me the truth from the beginning and I promise I will not be as pissed as I would be if you lie.  “I’m sorry your part was not actually shipped out, let me take care of that right away.”  Yep, I’d rather hear that, than “Yes we shipped it out.  You should have in 3-5 business days,” then 3 weeks later still no part.  Why do I tell you this?  I’m a writer, I don’t have customers.  On the contrary!

We deal with people everyday and how we treat them, determines how long they will be in our lives.  Now, we don’t call them “customers” per say, but they are people who if we don’t treat them with respect, they will find someone who does.  As a friend, if I am unable to hold up my end of the bargain, why would someone want to stay friends with me and vice versa?

As a writer, it is more than about just the writing that draws people to us.  We must be personable also.  No matter how wonderful a writer is, if they are rude, detached, and egotistical, I will not read them.  Some of my favorite authors are on twitter, @lara_adrian and @Jeaniene_Frost, just to throw some names out there.  These are well-known authors, busy as hell, and almost every time I have tweeted them, they have responded.  When I took my first creative writing class, they even responded with advice for me (although I’m sure they don’t remember).  What makes them good writers in my eyes?  Hell yes, they have some kick ass books that I enjoy reading over and over, while sitting (im)patiently for their next novel to come out.  But more importantly, they understand that their “customers” aka readers, put them where they are.  They understand that “taking care of their customers” is more than about writing great stories, it’s about reminding “normal” people like myself that they are just as human as us and that they appreciate us.

Although I am a newly published author, I appreciate every last person that has decided to hop on this train and ride it with me.  I don’t ever want to take for granted the people who come into my life, whether it be face to face or via the internet.  I am blessed that I am able to fulfill my dreams and I appreciate all of you who are helping me accomplish this dream.

Now with that being said, here’s some eye candy because I must take care of my girls!

         

2 thoughts on “Words to Live By!

  1. Nice blog post. I mean really nice. There are a few authors, big names, that I have reached out to and was floored when they responded to me. Diana Gabaldon is in Scotland right now and yet she still posted on my blog and tweeted what a good job I had done on a recent interview. I squeed with excitement. That is an author that has sold 17 million copies of her books worldwide and she’s saying “good job” to me?!?!?

    So you are exactly right. We readers are customers and when we get snubbed or ignored on an occasional twitter comment it totally turns me right off. I’m not meaning the stalking hounding comments either. Those I am sure frighten authors lol.

    • Oh yeah exactly. I get the not responding to stalkers, I’m not big enough to have any of those yet LOL. But it made me feel really good when those two gave me advice. I’ll never forget it!

Tell Me What You Think

